Health Bits

Follow Your Intuition To Good Health

Posted on: October 15, 2008

Ever noticed when stuck in a situation, you hear all sorts of solutions in your head. There is this tiny voice repeating an answer to you over and over again, while you are weighing the pros and cons of all the solutions. This is your intuition or the gut feeling. Many times we go by it and often we choose to ignore it. We are all born with the innate power to listen to ourselves. Though many of us lose the most of it in our childhood, when we start to reason out facts from feelings. A few who understand the power of intuition reap huge benefits in personal as well as professional terms.

I hold this true to health also. The simplest example is of debating over what to eat. I have read and written various papers on diets and weight loss. So I know the pros and cons of eating certain foods. But many times even though my studies tell me I’ll put on weight eating aloo paranthas in the morning, I go ahead because my gut feeling tells me I won’t. Now don’t confuse your gut feeling with fake assurance. Telling yourself repeatedly that aloo paranthas will not make you put on weight works as taking over your intuition. This is the reason we make the same repeated mistakes assuming that we are doing the right thing. If I disguise fake assurance with my gut feeling then iam in for trouble as then iam reassuring me of the benefits of a wrong doing. There is a mighty thin line between intuition and false assurance- a step over there can make all your efforts go in vain.

The key to good health is to listen to your body. Talking with yourself will give you answers to all your health issues. Whether it is insomnia, weight gain or depression your body will tell you at each point how to deal with it. Be it taking medicines, sleeping, eating certain foods- the correct answer will be immensely clear. It’s actually very simple all you have to do is to close your eyes and ask a question- the answer is a breath away.

Leave a Reply

